Daily Prompt: Pat on the Back

When I was young I used to think,

That success lies in bling-bling,

So at the outset I started dreaming

About a life fit for a queen

But when I started living,

Figured out money wasn’t the thing,

Worth putting your everything in

I knew something was missing

So I put all my energy in

soul-searching and seeking

for that something 

that would be filling

the emptiness inside me

I think I almost got insane

As my efforts seemed to go in vain

Until one day I opened the Qur’an

And found out the purpose of man

Surely nothing can defeat

The bliss that it feels

To be worshipping The Almighty

In response to Daily Prompt: Pat on the Back

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Pat on the Back

  1. Pingback: A Successful day… | The Rider

  2. Pingback: I’m Proud Of You | Cheri Speak

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Pat on the Back | flow of my soul

Leave a Reply

